Estonia, 17th Member State to participate in Rome III

Categories: Family Law
Typology: Articles
Tags: Divorce - Family

Commission Decision (EU) 2016/1366 of 10 August 2016 confirming the participation of Estonia in enhanced cooperation in the area of the law applicable to divorce and legal separation was published over the summer (OJEU, L 216, 11.8.2016, p. 23).

Estonia will join, as of 11 February 2018, the 16 countries already participating in Rome III (Regulation (EU) No 1259/2010): Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and Spain.

The Rome III Regulation, in place since June 2012, marked the first time ever that EU Member States decided to proceed the ‘enhanced cooperation’ procedure.

(Altalex, 19 December 2016. Article by Emmanuel Guinchard)

Share on: Share this article on Facebook Share this article on Linkedin Share this article on Twitter Share this article on GooglePlus